Skip to main content Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions.

Perform an On Demand/Manual Image Overwrite (Standard, Full) From the Control Panel or CentreWare Internet Services (CWIS)

Article Id: x_wc7556_en-O21253 | Published: 10/28/2019

Product support for
  • WC780X Family
  • WC7970 Family
  • WorkCentre® 7800 Series
  • WorkCentre™ 7970

Image data is any in-process or temporary user data on the hard drive, such as current jobs, queued jobs, temporary files, saved jobs, and saved folders. To ensure that image data on the printer hard drive cannot be accessed, you can delete and overwrite image data.

Standard On Demand/Manual Image Overwrite: Deletes all image data from the printer memory and hard drive, except:

  • Jobs and folders stored in the Reprint Saved Jobs feature
  • Jobs stored in the Scan to Mailbox feature
  • Fax Dial Directories
  • Fax Mailbox contents

NOTE: Standard On Demand/Manual image overwrite takes approximately 20 minutes to complete.


Full On Demand/Manual Image Overwrite: Deletes all image data from the printer memory and hard drive, including:

  • Jobs and folders stored in the Reprint Saved Jobs feature
  • Jobs stored in the Scan to Mailbox feature
  • Fax Dial Directories
  • Fax Mailbox contents

NOTE: Full On Demand/Manual image overwrite takes approximately 60 minutes to complete.


Perform an On Demand/Manual Image Overwrite From the Control Panel:

  1. Login to Administrator mode from the Control Panel. See the Related Content for additional information.
    • Press the [Log In / Out] button on the Control Panel.
    • Enter the System Administrator user ID in the field provided, and then select the [Next] button.
    • Enter the password in the field provided, and then select the [Enter] button.

      NOTE: The default user ID is "admin" (case sensitive). The default passcode is "1111".
      Contact your System Administrator if there is a problem with the password, or the password has been lost or forgotten. If the password cannot be recovered, contact Support to place a service call.

  2. Press the Machine Status button on the Control Panel.
  3. Select the Tools tab.
  4. Select Security Settings.
  5. Select Image Overwrite Security.
  6. Select Disk Overwrite Now.
  7. To change the overwrite mode, select Overwrite Mode, then select an option.  Available options include: Standard Overwrite or Full Overwrite. 
  8. To set the printer to print a Confirmation Report after it overwrites data, select Confirmation Report, then select an option.  Available options include: On, Errors Only or Off. 
  9. Select Overwrite Now.

    NOTE: Depending on how many files are being deleted, the printer can be offline for up to 60 minutes during the deletion process.

  10. To acknowledge the message and start the process, select Overwrite Now.


Perform a Standard On Demand/Manual Image Overwrite Using CentreWare Internet Services (CWIS):

NOTE: Standard On Demand/Manual image overwrite takes approximately 20 minutes to complete.

  1. Access CentreWare Internet Services and if necessary, login as Administrator. See the Related Content for additional information.
  2. Click on the Properties tab.
  3. Click on Security on the left side of the screen to expand the options.
  4. Click on Image Overwrite Security.
  5. Click on the Disk Overwrite tab.
  6. Click on the Overwrite Now tab.
  7. To print a Confirmation Report after the printer overwrites data, under Confirmation Report for Schedule Overwrites, select On. To print a report only if an error occurs, select Errors only.
  8. To start a Standard disk overwrite:
    1. Click on Start Disk Overwrite Now.
    2. Click OK to acknowledge the warning message.


Perform a Full On Demand/Manual Disk Image Overwrite Using CentreWare Internet Services (CWIS):

NOTE: Full On Demand/Manual image overwrite takes approximately 60 minutes to complete.

  1. Access CentreWare Internet Services and login as administrator. See the Related Content for additional information.
  2. Click on the Properties tab.
  3. Click on Security on the left side of the screen to expand the options.
  4. Click on Image Overwrite Security.
  5. Click on the Disk Overwrite tab.
  6. Click on the Overwrite Now tab.
  7. To start a Full disk overwrite:
    1. Place a check mark in the Advanced Settings check box.
    2. Select the Full radio button under Overwrite Mode.
    3. Click on Start Disk Overwrite Now.
    4. Click OK to acknowledge the warning message.

Related content

Did this help?